Running out of time

My mom’s cancer is progressing to the point that she is having difficulty speaking. She is currently in end stage metastatic melanoma that has spread to her left lung and brain. She had surgery in December 2020 to remove a brain tumor and was stable until now. My mom chose hospice care because she doesn’t want to be hospitalized anymore. It’s difficult to understand her because her speech is jumbled. I’ve been taking care of my mom for a while since her cancer returned a few years ago. Today I asked her if she knew my name and she got it wrong. I’ve been crying on and off since then. I know it’s the cancer but I never thought she would forget my name.

3 Likes

I was a hospice nurse, so I have some idea of what you’re going through, and I have to say, you are being quite heroic.

Though she may not remember your name, at depth, she knows very well who you are.

Being there for her will continue to mean a lot to her. It might be really hard, but you need to take care of yourself as best you can.

2 Likes

It’s tough because I don’t have much of a chance to get out. I have a sister that lives nearby but we have too many issues. I only have energy to deal with my mom. Everything else is secondary. I’ve been dreading this time for a while. Now that it’s here I find I’m not as strong as I hoped.

1 Like

Is your mom on Medicare funded hospice? If so, someone at the hospice agency might be able to find someone who can spend time with your mom, so you can take a break, and maybe do a bit of shopping or something else.

You may not feel strong, but I have no doubt you will have the strength that you need. Love has a way of doing that for you

1 Like