Selfish people

I am a nurse and have been doing nightshift. I worked last night and was informed that one of our residents who goes out with carers during the day had their carer call at 9pm to tell staff they were calling as a courtesy because they didn’t feel well and were getting Covid tested. They also have a spouse at home who is waiting Covid results… so this son of a tit decided to come to work and make contact with our resident who has now made contact with all the other residents and staff. Regardless of it being Covid, even if they weren’t feeling well, the residents I work with are vulnerable and sickness catches easily because people with dementia don’t understand isolation.
So now I’m tired and very angry that I have to cancel plans and wait for the carers results to come back.
This may seem petty, but people are constantly trying to disobey the precautions my work establishment has in place resulting in all the staff and residents having to put everything on hold.
It’s fucking draining.
Anyway, end rant. I swear to god I’m not an angry person in real life ha.

2 Likes

I’m confused. What did this person do wrong? Please explain more clearly.

If you’re sick and needs to be tested for Covid and are living with someone who is sick and getting tested for Covid, why would you come to work and interact with someone who is then also going to come back to a facility and interact with other residents and staff… it’s like if you had gastro and decided to go to work and then decided hours later to tell your work you have gastro as a courtesy in case anyone else gets sick.

1 Like

Oh…
well then that wasn’t that smart of that person…
I see why your’e mad…
It’s just that nobody seems to really be taking Covid19 seriously anymore, except in some other countries…

1 Like