Sink or swim

Hi everyone,

This is hard for me but I don’t know what else to do. I’m an introvert and talking about things isn’t exactly easy for me but I’ve been feeling like I’m about to lose my mind for a while now and I need some help. I’m depressed and miserable. I don’t think I can list all the things that have made me feel this way or contributed to this feeling, but right now I’m facing a conundrum.

You see, I got my degree in accounting but when the pandemic hit I was unemployed for almost three years.

Just last year an opportunity arrived, it was a learnership in an accounting firm and everyone was happy about it…everyone except me.

I was desperate for a job but something happened during my three years of unemployment, I discovered my real passion.

I discovered my love for writing and I really want to be a writer.

I know some people might wonder why I would accept a job in accounting when my real passion is something else.

I don’t know what to really tell you except that it seemed like the most logical thing to do at the time. Everyone in my family would be happy and I’d finally be able to start being financially independent.

I knew from my very first day that I wasn’t meant to be there. I felt like a fraud amongst colleagues, like I didn’t belong and from day one I have been miserable.

I want more than anything to quit my job and focus on writing but I’m afraid. Is it even sane to leave a stable professional job/career to take a chance on my passion? What if I quit and I can’t make a career out of writing? What if people hate my work? How will I face my family who are depending on me financially?

Am I being ridiculous?

I can’t bare the thought of stepping into that office anymore. It’s gotten to the point where I’m actually hoping to get fired, just so I can be free. I’m afraid I might say or do something just so I can leave but even if I do that, a greater fear is the fear of failure.