Something good I want to share

So I talked about this on Dan’s stream today, but also wanted to share it here, if that’s ok.

I work at an after school care here in New Zealand, so we look after kids (5-11 years old) for a few hours in the afternoons while their parents are working or whatever. We give them snacks, and organize various games and activities to keep them entertained 'till they get picked up. A couple weeks ago, one of the kids had a bad day at school and was quite upset when she arrived. I wanted to do something to help cheer her up, and I knew she loved drawing, so we sat and drew together for a while. I drew her a butterfly picture using her favourite colours, and wrote her name underneath it with my nice calligraphy pen. I’m not that good at art really, especially if its just a quick drawing, but she loved it.

So I started doing at least one a day for different kids at work, just drawing their favourite animal, or movie character, or whatever they want really, and it’s been really cool to see them so happy about these little sketches.

Then yesterday a few of the kids asked me to show them some drawing tips so they could make art for some of the other kids at school that they saw had been sad, or lonely, etc. I don’t really know much about drawing tips so we ended up looking up some youtube tutorials and they are so into it. Between the 4 of us that afternoon we created 9 different artworks for them to give to kids at school the next day. I wasn’t at work today, but I just heard from one of the other staff that as soon as they arrived at after school care today, the first thing they wanted to do was make more art.

I’ve spoken to my boss and she’s agreed to put some of our budget for this month towards some better art supplies for them to use, and some nice paper for them to draw on. It’s so amazing seeing these young kids so passionate about helping others with art, and we want to encourage it as much as we can.