[[Stimulation]]

It can be the enemy…
But stimulation is also my dearest friend.

What kind of stimulation?

I like music and responding to posts. What do you like? You have me intrigued.

I enjoy healthy forms of stimulation, such as listening to music, playing in water, reading, dancing etc…
But I also have a habit of seeking quick physical stimulation. So I also get my fix in less healthier ways. I’ll binge drink, smoke, masturbate, self injure, etc.

1 Like

I have limited experience with this but it does sound like some of these are touch related/ relaxation/ stress release.
Maybe try some more touch related types of things. Like get more things that can help you make healthier choices more easily.
Weighted blankets help with anxiety. Or other ways to get pressure.
I have animals and petting them works for me. But if you don’t have pets stuffed animals or soft blankets. There are lots of great fidgety type items with different textures that you might like. Maybe some aroma therapy.
Long story short- look into some other ways to get stimulus that are healthier and maybe set up yourself a kit that is easy to access so you can go to those if you are having urges.
Wishing you the best.

2 Likes

Elaine, thank you for taking the time to respond. You have some great tips; definitely right up my alley. I’ve heard of weighted blankets before, and im really interested in trying one. I tend to sleep with pillows crammed around my entire body because I like the feeling lol so a heavy blanket sounds great

EyelessDoll,

Yeah man it can be so brutal to feel like the very thing that brings you comfort destroys you. It’s like needing water but your well is contaminated and makes you sick every time you drink it.