The world is reinforcing how I feel

For the longest time I have hated myself. I have been repeating the mantra “I hate myself” out loud weekly, or even daily sometimes, for years. It is usually over stupid things, the kinds of things no one else remembers if they even noticed at all, but I can’t let the thought of them go. I usually swallow it and move up, plow through, just bury it and continue because part of me does realize that I have it pretty good. I mean my life is no rose bed but I get by without significant struggles and I am grateful for it and it usually grounds my thoughts for a time. Lately it has been harder though.

I have been working the same job for 9 years. My opinion has always been asked, my input heard, my suggestions considered, and I feel good knowing I contribute. Over the past two years we have struggled. We made mistakes that hurt business and I being on the customer service side took a lot of flak for an inferior product that I didn’t make but was expected to support and sell. But that is customer service so as usual I grit my teeth and plow through it. No sense looking back, can’t change that, so look forward, deal with things as they come, and try to make things better. I hate myself, it sucks, but so what, that is not entirely new. Except this time things haven’t bounced back.

After about a year of struggling to keep up with the increased support calls they finally hired someone to help, and then finally fixed the product. It took a year for it to happen and in that time my opinion was no longer heard, and my suggestions were not considered simply because they came from me. When another coworker voiced the same opinion to support me he got praised for the idea. But so what, at least the company moves forward. I hate myself. So do they I suppose, but at least we all move forward.