Trauma from work

So two weeks ago I went back into over the road truck driving. For the most part I really love it, traveling all over the USA is amazing. Tuesday though I had an experience I guess. There was an accident where I was, and I had to drive by and the gentleman involved was killed. He was on the side of the road. Just laying there. That’s a lot to just say I know I’m sorry if that’s triggering to anyone else but I guess I’m wondering how do people deal with seeing that. I’ve seen multiple accidents, the better part of ten years I’ve been a over the road driver, but the most part the only thing I’ve seen was maybe a body bag. I’ve never seen the things I saw this week first hand. Truthfully I thought it didn’t bother me, but tonight now that I’m home for my time off and it being the holidays it’s kind of getting to me. I don’t really have anyone to talk to about it. So idk first responders, military veterans, how do you do it? I guess I’ve never really seriously thought about mortality, and in reality how fast it can be over. I don’t even really know exactly what my brains thinking other than overwhelmed with thought. I don’t know if I’ll forget that sight ever, so what do you do? Do you just bottle it up? Do you scream? In the trucking industry if I say anything I’ll probably just be called a sissy im sure, but right before Christmas and his life just ended in front of everyone, and his body was there just there in the road. It just has me feeling sick almost and just sad

5 Likes

Hello donavand!
Im truly sorry to hear of this experience. I’ve found that trying to get rid of these feelings only makes them more intense. What I would suggest is to try and accept the image for what it is, just an image. One of the exercises that has helped me is to:

1. Imagine the image (you may become uncomfortable at first)
  2. See where its located, in front of me? Does it take the whole space?