Trying to Find Purpose

Hello Everyone,
I wanted to reach out for support. I am going through a tough time and I was hoping for prayer and support.

Currently, I am going for my PhD and I am halfway through the program. I have to take an exam in February that will determine whether I get to stay in the program or not. I am currently in a class that is prepping me for that exam and I recently failed the mid-term exam. I feel this is a sign of what is to come and if I fail that exam in February, I have no fallback option on job or path.

Compounding the anxiety are multiple things. First, I am carrying a burden of student loan debt. When I was in Undergrad, my parents claimed me on their taxes even though I was independent and on my own. This became consequential, as it allowed the school I got my master’s from to charge me out of state tuition even though I would have qualified for in-state tuition. As a result, it ballooned my student loan debt from what should have been $30,000 to over $75,000. In a way, I feel betrayed by my parents because them claiming me (even though I was on my own and paying my own bills) was the cause of this much student debt. I am not sure how I am going to pay that all back and I feel like it is going to hinder my chances of being in good financial shape and getting a house. Second, my parents officially divorced after 30+ years. Because of their divorce, I got a lot of my old stuff from their house and it brought back a lot of bad memories that I had forgotten about. Finally, I feel like I don’t belong. I am the oldest one in my program. I feel completely disconnected from my classmates. Additionally, all of my friends are working full-time jobs, raising families, and are light years ahead of me in terms of life it feels.