When life gives you lemons

Hi there, Heart Support. Happy New Year.

Like many here it seems, I learned about this website/resource via @kitboga (whom I only discovered a few weeks ago, but whose Twitch livestreams have rapidly become something of a security blanket during a challenging time of life.) I have been lurking around Heart Support for awhile, but this is my first time making a post. So (if you don’t mind), a bit o’ background about me…

For much of my youth I suffered from some of the more common afflictions of the human condition: depression, loneliness, debilitating social anxiety. After ~1.5 decades of major mental health challenges, I got tired of stumbling my way miserably through existence, and began to work (and I mean really work) on healing & bettering myself. Through this process, I discovered yoga & meditation, which were nothing short of transformative (can’t emphasize that enough). Fast forward the clock, and I have now maintained a disciplined, daily practice of both for nearly ten years. For most of that time, I have felt better mentally, physically, and spiritually than I have my entire life. Full stop.

That said, these past few months have been doozies. I’m trying to be grateful for the challenges and the lessons they offer, but life is a lot right now, and it helps to talk about these things. The anonymity offered by the internet means that talking to strangers online is sometimes easier than seeking support from “irl” friends/family. So Imma give this a try and see what happens…