Back to heartsupport

Where can I go from here?

Hello. I’m new to this but I just needed to talk to somebody.

This week my academic life has been torn to shreds. I am currently in college to be a teacher and only have the next fall semester to go until I can graduate with my bachelor’s.
This past week I royally messed up and forgot to turn in a few assignments to one of my professors. I honestly have no excuse and have nobody to blame but myself.
I met with the professor of that class and tried explaining but she shot me down immediately. She told me that she wouldn’t want me teaching because if I can’t get small assignments done on time then how can I be trusted to be a teacher. And I agree with her.
She also told me that she will not be recommending me to student teach in the fall. (which would have been my final semester)
My advisor quickly called me into a meeting with her and asked me to explain myself. I told her that I did not have an excuse for my action and I know she is really disappointed in me.

My advisor told me that I could appeal my professor’s decision but that would involve me passing the rest of the semester with flying colors and then meeting with the head of the education department to make my case. Even then there is still a big chance I will still get rejected. My advisor did suggest that I look into getting Regents Bachelor’s of Arts Degree because I may already qualify to graduate with that degree. ( I do qualify and I can graduate with that degree in August of this year)

Right after I called my parents and told them what happened and they were there immediately to help me figure out what I could do. They even did some research about other programs I could join at different schools. I can’t thank them enough because without them I don’t think I would have made it through the rest of the week.