Where do I go next?

Man a lot has changed within the last two years for me. My one and a half year relationship ended, Covid hit, and I was at a place where I was physically and emotionally alone. I took on some recommendations to try counseling and, for me, it work! I became passionate about life again. Because of counseling, I actually got really invested in mental health and started to look into more education. I graduated college and now have started my Master’s education. I am studying mental health counseling as a profession and I am enjoying every second of it.

However, I feel that creepy anxiety of what is my next step. There are a lot of considerations for counseling. What state should I practice in? What specializations should I be invested in? Has Covid ruined the face-to-face element of the practice?

As these questions race through my mind, I laugh at myself being so focused on the next thing. I think it is nice just to take a breath and take a look back of all that I have accomplished so far. I have come so far! I can take pride in being able to survive a pandemic and a heartbreak. And now as my heart grows heavy for those who are still hurting. I have a long way to go, but I want to be able to enjoy the journey.

Where do I go next? Honestly, I have no idea. But all I know is it is just one step forward from where I have been. As I learn to advocate for mental health, I hope to encourage people to take a breather and appreciate how far they have come. :smile:

9 Likes

hi @BassGuitar2017 !

WOW, this post is an inspiring one and i am so thankful you posted your story here. it shows me many things, one being how you can turn a low situation into a positive change for yourself and others. you’ve also shown me that there will always be some uncertainties at any stage of life but hey, it’s more important to enjoy the here and now.