Why do people look away?

Why is it that no one asks the straight A and honor students how they are doing, if they are struggling and if they need help?

How come no one sees that the “good” students struggling too?

I’ve been out of high school for 2 years, and I still can’t get over the fact that no one cared or even dared to ask if I’m okay.
In a school where they were actually behind students doing well and making sure they are okay, still no one cares about the ones who get (sort of) good grades.

I graduated honors roll, but no one understands that I barely made it to graduation.
I was high and drunk most of my high school career and did all sorts of things while everyone chose to look away.
Even when I got suspended from school, it was alright for everyone, because I always had sort of good grades and got enough of my work done to not fail all my classes.

Just because I was good at guessing on tests and doing enough work to be fine, everyone assumed I have to be doing great, at least not bad enough to be worried.

I’m sick of people choosing to look away.
I hate that “strong” people don’t get asked how they’re doing.
I’m done with everyone assuming I have no issues because I somehow managed to do okay on tasks and work.

I got labeled as the strange one, but the one who was smart.

I wasn’t smart, I did everything to destroy myself, and I hate that everyone chose to look away instead of helping me.

Hey friend.
I’m so sorry you feel this way. I hope you know that you are heard here. I hope you know that we love and respect you. We care about you and we are here for you.
If you feel like you aren’t listened to or feel like you aren’t asked how you’re doing, I wanna encourage you to keep posting on the support wall or join our Discord. Our Discord is a great way to get to know people, build friendships, and talk with others about how you’re feeling.