Why work so hard to be ignored or discarded?

I have been working at the same company for 5 yrs, I have won awards on what great work I am doing but I have to fight and fight to do my job. These 3 men instead of including me in the project at hand, they go behind my back and make decisions on what I should be doing. It is all the way up to the Management doing this. They are not my boss yet they feel them can tell me what to do and how to do it. I have been doing this for over 25 yrs, it is not my first time. They ignore me, make decisions for me and don’t include me. I have brought this up to the big manager but she is so nice to everyone ,“Oh it must have been just a misunderstanding” that was 20-25 issues ago… it is not a misunderstanding they do it on purpose . I am crying trying to do my job!!! I cant deal with this anymore…

4 Likes

It’s time to look for a new job where you and your long history of experience are respected. After 5 years with the same company you should be getting promoted, not treated like a child, especially with 20-25 years of experience in your field. I believe that no company has your best interests at heart; they are looking out for what good you can do the company. It’s up to you to look after your well-being and make sure you’re in the best possible situation, and it’s really empowering to realize that you can control your career that way. I’ve known way too many people who are miserable at jobs they’ve been working a long time, and I know still more who got fired or laid off and said it was the best thing that ever happened to them.

Luckily you currently have a job, that gives you the luxury of time and the ability to be choosy about where you go to work next. Freshen up your resume and LinkedIn profile and start applying. DM me if you want networking and resume writing tips, that was about the most useful thing I learned in college.

3 Likes

Hey there and welcome to HeartSupport!