I wish things were different

I’m currently undergoing the strongest test of my character I’ve ever had. Every day is a struggle and a battle. I am a soldier in the Army, training for deployment. The hardest thing isn’t even that. I know people tell me I’m a hero and all that jazz but I feel like a villain. I was recently engaged until my fiancé told me she hated me for leaving her and joining the army. She told me she hopes, " You die alone in Afghanistan." I joined the army to give her a future but she doesn’t want that. Not only that but recently I reconnected with a friend and feel that I am destroying her life. I love her very much but feel that I only destroy her. She cares a lot about me too. I just want her to be happy and I know she isn’t happy where she is. I want her to have what she wants in life. I really do. I go to God about these things and it’s like he tells me to be there for her. She is my world. But it hurts knowing that not only if the pain that’s going on in her life will make her have to shut me out, but should I be killed overseas, I will never see her again and will have to leave her behind. I don’t work a very safe job in the army. I’m not a paper pusher. I was recently going to under go special forces training but I withdrew with everything going on right now. My whole life I’ve wanted to just die in battle and be remembered as a hero, but now everything has changed.

1 Like

I hope it’s okay for me to say that I hope you don’t die, also thank you very much for your service.
Unfortunately, none of us know what God’s plan is but doing your best to follow what God has put on your heart can only make your future and those around you’s future brighter in the long run. If God’s put it on your heart to be there for her and also do special forces and you end up dead in battle as a result, you’ll have to trust that God will use other means to bring her to where she is intended to be.