The underwhelming 20s

There’s so much to unpack here and I’m a new user so I figured I’d put it all out there and see what happens: I graduated high school in 2016 and ever since then I’ve had extreme lows and then the rest just seems to be regular. I haven’t had any genuine longterm happiness since then. I started college in the Fall of 2016 and that made me want to die, I hated all but one of my classes, I could not for the life of me make any new friends (and I actually tried this time), I couldn’t stand a lot of the professors, and my classmates were ehh, some were okay others I’d rather not spend time with. My only solace was my engish lit class and even that only happened twice a week. I also worked part time to fund my education, so I was constantly rushing out of class to get to work. I was absolutely miserable and on top of it once Winter break came around a very close family member ended up in the hospital and I lost my shit (for lack of better explanation). She was in the hospital for over a month and her condition was deteriorating, I took one look at a syllabus for only 1 of my 5 classes and immediately broke down in tears. I gave up a week later and I dropped out of college with only finishing one semester I felt (and still feel) like a failure. School had always been that one thing that I was consistently good at and now all of the sudden I couldn’t do it anymore? I didn’t tell any of my friends, even the ones I had from high school that I went to the same college with. I kinda just pretended like I didn’t exist. I avoided contact with them like the plague and eventually they confronted me and they were supportive but it didn’t help change the way I felt about myself. Acutally it’s two years later a a lot of people have no idea that I dropped out, definitly avoiding the criticism there. On the other hand dropping out was a huge weight off my shoulders. And I could actually work enough to save my money instead of throwing it at a university when I did