Advice on Finding a Passion

Hello,

I hope everyone is having a good day. I was just curious if someone could give me advice on a big issue I have come to realize recently. Lately, I have been kind of sad because all I do is work and work and work more. I am a college student studying Biology, but I have had doubts about my entire life.

I recently came to the actualization that I do not love anything about myself really. The only time I do feel a sense of accomplishment is when I compare myself to others. It has been going on my whole life. I used to run track and field in high school, but was always attacking myself for not being fast. I only loved getting medals and winning. I got CCENT (networking IT thing) certified in high school, and it only felt good because no one else did. I studied IT in high school because I was good at it and knew more than everyone else. I major in Biology now because of the altruism, but lately I just don’t know who I am anymore.

Most people do leisure activities because they enjoy them. But I have never enjoyed anything for me. I have created this system where my success is only ‘good’ when I have beaten others. Now that I am a young adult, in a world with almost 8 billion people, I know it is virtually impossible to find something that I can beat everyone else in. The problem is now I do nothing with my life except work on school stuff, watch television, and work at Best Buy Geek Squad.

Everyone keeps telling me to explore and that I need to just figure out what I like, but my brain is stuck in this mindset of not being able to like anything unless I can beat others at it, to tell myself I am good. I know why this has happened which is a story inning of itself, but my question is how do I actually explore what I love?