Being honest and open

Hello friends,

I hope you don’t mind, but I wanted to take some time and tell you all a story. It’s about me and it might relate to some of you reading this. My journey with HeartSupport has helped me see that opening up about our issues doesnt make us weak, it allows us to grow stronger. I am really scared to post this because I’m not sure how people will react. But this is a part of my story and I won’t be able to fully conquer it until I face it. So sit back, relax, and let me take you back in time.

It’s spring of 2014 and I am a student at West Virginia University. For the past 4 years I’ve dealt with severe depression and never told anyone. Unfortunately, when my parents found my scars and my grades had shown I had failed my classes, I couldn’t keep it a secret anymore. I felt scared and alone. I went to some very dark places and I fought so hard just to survive. I decided to go see a therapist. After a few sessions they had me see a psychiatrist. I’ll never forget the drop in my stomach when I heard the doctor say “bipolar disorder”. I was so upset. NO! I have depresssion and and anxiety. I was told by people that people with bipolar disorder are crazy and can’t keep relationships. That didn’t fit me! My doctor tried to show me where my symptoms matched but I didn’t want to hear it. I remember driving home and setting my papers about the diagnosis and session on fire. (I actually set them on fire, please dont do that). I didn’t want anyone to know that I had been diagnosed with bipolar disorder. What would they think of me? I also remember my mom telling me sometime after this that “at least I didn’t have bipolar disorder because those people are crazy!” I knew I could never tell her the truth. That has stopped me from being honest or open with anyone about my experiences.