DBT skills! Asking for advice

I’m been working on DBT skill by myself from a book. I did develop some coping skills to help my issues. However I been trying these mind exercises , there some I like and some I don’t like. Do you need to every exercise in the book or can you choose which one work best for you?

1 Like

@Metalskater1990 Keep in mind that I’m not a professional, so this is only my personal opinion… Someone else will probably have a different opinion.

I’m surprised it doesn’t say in the book how long or when to do the exercises or if you need to do them all. It’s usually somewhere in self help books but even when it is, it’s easy to forget and it can be hard to find again unless you remember about how far into the book you read it. To be honest, all I can really say is that you should probably do the ones you don’t like for about a week to see if they help you. Even things you don’t like doing can be helpful in the long run, but you won’t know unless you keep at it. At the same time, be vigilant that they aren’t triggering you. That’s the only thing with self help books, is that you can be triggered into a bad response and then you might not have anyone to help you out of it. I’m glad to see it’s helping you develop some coping skills.

~Daisy :hearts:

1 Like

@Metalskater1990

I’d say it depends on how the book has been made, if there is clearly a kind of progression intended with the book as long as you keep reading, or if it’s separated chapters.