Death, Self harm, and falling apart

On Tuesday my dad died. On Thursday everything started falling apart. Friday I relapsed into self harm for the 2nd time in two months.

Its now Sunday and everything feels disconnected, hopeless, pointless, and unreal. Nothing feels like it’ll ever be okay again.

Not only am I struggling with grief but my PTSD is playing up and my brain is fighting my antidepressant. I’m back to the same state I was in pre-psych ward admission last month and that really scares me.

I’m in virtual intensive outpatient (IOP) programming Monday-Friday but…thats likely going to change. They’re talking of stepping me up to, at the minimum, in person partial hospitalization(PHP) or, worst case scenario, residential treatment (RTC). I’ve been in 3 PHP programs before…I know how those work but I’ve never done RTC before. The thought of someone watching me 24/7 like in inpatient is also very awkward and kinda scary. But safety is important and right now…I can’t keep myself safe.

Anyways, encouragement is welcome. I know no one can fix the brokenness I feel but it helps to know I’m not alone. Just no detailed dead parent stories please. I’m limited on what I can handle. Thx.

6 Likes

I posted something yesterday you can check it out. I know the words may be not be enough this time you can just check it out. I wish you get out of this all soon

2 Likes

The fact that you are recognizing this is amazing. I’ve been on suicide watch too many times and the camera in my room haunted me. They do watch too, because I tried to use something in my room to self harm and a nurse was in my room pretty quickly.

But, you’re right in saying that if you can’t keep yourself safe then you need help. When those dark thoughts come and you don’t feel safe, it’s time to ask for help.

Dealing with grief amplifies everything to a point where it just overflows and support is needed.

My heart goes out to you @TheeCrazyBethy and I’m sending you lots of hugs. :hrtlegolove: