Depression/growth

Hi, this is my first time posting on here. I’m working on the dwarf planet workbook and came across the first challenge of sharing my reasons. I don’t normally talk to anyone about my depression because I never wanted to feel judged or pitied I suppose. This workbook has honestly helped a lot so far to figure out the root of my depression. I don’t like expressing my emotions to anyone, I’ve been hurt in the past by those closest to me, friends and especially family. And because of that i guess I trust too easily and it’s usually people who really don’t have the best intentions but I’m too blind to see it. And I get so stuck inside my head because I don’t express that. I occupy myself with stuff and stay busy so I don’t have to deal with it. I’ve realized that I’m just scared to express my emotions to others in fear of rejection but I also don’t want to feel vulnerable. I’ve been holding all of these emotions in for years. I know I’ve got a long way to go on this healing journey, and so this is the beginning.

4 Likes

Hey @Odessa, welcome here!

Dwarf Planet is a good resource. It’s awesome to hear that you’ve been using it to reflect on yourself and your story. Learning to know yourself better, but also what’s the shape of your specific experience of depression, is a huge step. Congrats on beginning this journey! And thank you for sharing all of this. It’s a new world of possibilities that you’re walking in.

I don’t normally talk to anyone about my depression because I never wanted to feel judged or pitied I suppose.