Dreams and memories

I’ve been having dreams about things that have happened and things I thought is forgotten. If I admit exactly what happened and actually talk to someone about it all then it’s real and not just a nightmare. I don’t want to have to deal with it anymore and don’t really want to be around anymore. I’m sorry for sounding really stupid and selfish.

2 Likes

You’re not selfish or stupid at all by want to talk about this. Maybe not the content of the dreams, based on what you said, but maybe how you feel all and all about it, and what you want to do from here. I’m no expert, but maybe it would be good to talk about what’s going on and figure out what to do. But if there’s anything you don’t wanna share, don’t feel forced to share it. Share what you’re comfortable sharing about this, and we’ll all help you best we can!!!

Hey @Whois,

There’s nothing in what you said that would sound stupid. It’s not your fault if you’re having those dreams and are reminded of things you didn’t want to think about. And it’s actually really brave to come here and say it. Thank you so much for taking the time to share all of this, friend.

I hear that those memories are particularly difficult for you right now and it’s understandable that you’d like to run away from it, if not from everything. But you know that’s not a solution. Talking about what happened is a key for healing, but it still has to be done when you’ll feel ready for it. By putting words on what happened, you’ll be in a position of empowering yourself, of feeling more in control and less overwhelmed, for example by your dreams. Though it’s okay to take your time. There is no rush, no pressure, no due date when it’s about your heart. Those things take time. And it makes sense to be afraid of making it more real through the words you could use.