EMDR Updates pt 2!

Looking back, I’ve been doing EMDR for four months now. From what I am aware of, the start/average is 8-12 sessions for it to be effective (which we have now surpassed, since I started seeing Alyce weekly) and it has definitely helped.

But before it got better, it got worse. I’m not sure how much or what I said, but a door opened. I was told your brain doesn’t unseal those memories unless you can handle it. So I did my best to put that attitude on.
I’m not sure if who is reading this plays D&D/TTRPGs or likes fantasy, but I imagined “the opening” like a firm door that wouldn’t budge slowly releasing its tight lock, opening enough to peer in. It was keeping what was in there in, locked away. Wind and dust errupted from the room, bringing up terrible memories that I had since altered or done my best to forget. (Even now, a month or so later it unsettles me). I put on my brave face and decided to fight what was in the room instead of closing it more securely.

And it’s been rough. Very, very rough.

My mom, who is now graduated with her NP license in psychiatry & mental health, thinks she knows everything about everything. But at the same time she questions her knowledge? it is very confusing. If you know the song “Mother Knows Best” from Tangled, then you’re on the right track, because she acts like she knows what’s best. and, honestly, she doesn’t. Completely ignoring the fact that she couldn’t be my NP because she is my mom, I literally had what my psychiatrist called a “textbook case” of PTSD. Yet my mom wants to deny me having trauma, because heaven forbid my father did anything to me.

A month and a half or so ago when the memories released, things related to potential child sexual abuse came up. It was around my midterms and I ended up giving myself what is called “Post Concussion Syndrome” which, to my understanding, is whiplash brain damage but not quite a concussion. Because of this, my mom all but forced me to tell her what was wrong.