First week working at a school

I started as a math tutor at a public elementary school, and I have been experiencing a lot of new things every single day. I love talking about them because this is a job and these are experiences, I have feared for years and even still have anxiety about. But these moments have been so fascinating and new.

I vent a little at the end of this, but I wanted to share those moments now since I’m feeling a little like no one gives a damn about my stories… kind of like how some people hate when you talk about dreams.

But! I’m a math tutor. I can’t start tutoring yet because the front office has been struggling to correctly process me since I’m not actually employed by the school or district but I’m also not a volunteer. Because of this, I have nothing to do. So, I have been occasionally popping into classes to ‘help out’ the teacher. I have no idea what I’m doing, though. I’m trained to understand inequities and deliver math lessons to 4th, 5th, and 6th grade students. I am not trained to understand k-3 behavior issues and correctly, efficiently, and respectfully resolve them. There have been vague requests from various staff that I help with behavior issues and that makes me extremely uncomfortable, as my job responsibilities aren’t super clear to me at this stage.