Gaming and how it lets me escape

Hello. This is my first time talking about something like this to others outside of my friend circle.

I would say I’m just a average gamer, plays a handful of games, whether it be something like COD or a casual MMO. I like gaming because I believe it helps me escape from the world around me. I have a job that isn’t too intensive and overall I have a good relationship their with my employer and fellow employees. A few are good friends.

However, I strain away from going out at all. A few times a month maybe but mostly I want to stay home and away from people. I would say I have undiagnosed social anxiety. I fear of going to people’s homes with multiple people, engaging in basic social activities. I’m using this as an excuse to not have any social interaction.

Am I the problem or are others that don’t understand the problem? This is something that has bothered me for the last few years, I’m only 25 years old.

I’d like to hear if anyone else knows what this “reclusive”(?) state of mind is.

3 Likes

Hey there @wolfie887,

First off: well done for reaching out here and sharing about all of this. I know it’s not necessarily easy nor comfortable to do so. You’re in a safe space here.

To answer your question: you are not the problem, and other people are not either (except if they don’t try to understand or don’t respect your limits - then there’s a behavior issue there on their end). The issue is the thing behind this discomfort and fears that you experience, could it be anxiety or something else. I myself struggle with social anxiety - been struggling with it for at least when I was a kid, and I’m 28 now. I would love to hear your own experience. What are your fears made of when it’s about going to someone’s home? Do you identify other situations that you tend to avoid because of fear?