How do you process changing someone else's life?

Hello my friends,

I had a completely new experience last week and, if I’m honest, I’m struggling to process it.

To give some context, those of you who know me know I work as a researcher at a university. Last week, we were hosting interviews for new PhD candidates and entry-level researchers, like me, were helping out (e.g. showing the interviewees where to go etc.). One of the candidates was a past Masters student who had been in my research group about a year ago and we arranged to meet to have a tea in the cafe.

So, last year, when this student was in my group, I had noticed she was struggling with her mental health (I just recognised depression in her demeanour). I reached out to her, and we had a really open chat about her and her struggles. I also opened up to her about my similar problems and told her that she wasn’t alone in feeling like an “imposter” in the department. It was a very intense conversation and I kept in contact with her for several months after.

When we met up, she told me that she had taken a year to really face her problems and was now in a mental place where she was ready to do a PhD. She told me that without me, she would not have got herself together, that I changed her life and that she would not be in a position to do a PhD without me. I mean, she’s got interviews at Oxford and she said that she wouldn’t have done that without me (?) It’s crazy.

I just feel it’s so much power to have over someone else’s life. She seems so much better and has so much more life in her eyes, but I can’t help but feel a lot of responsibility for wherever her life goes now. What if doing the PhD makes her feel worse? University life damaged her before, and wouldn’t it now be my fault if that happens again? I never told her to do a PhD, only that she wasn’t alone and telling her how fucking brave she is for facing ever day like she does. I still feel responsible though.