How it feels /possible TW

When I feel stressed, it feels like my body is in power saving mode. Overheated, burnt, and dead while it feels like I’m in the middle of dying. Panic mode in slow motion. Everyone and everything is burning alive while I have the pace of a sloth, slowly watching my arms melt away in front of my eyes. Nothing but deadpan expression, numbed away after countless tears. I just shut down and go silent.

I just got demoted from a job I actually liked because I wasn’t as experienced as they thought. Neither were others, I could tell, but they were there a lot longer than me so of course it makes more sense to build up who you already have, right? I could already tell that’s what they were doing when they cut my hours the first time.

I was a cook and manager for a local place. Lower pay than my last job and finances had to be cut tight and it was a risk I was willing to take because there’s were better opportunities and a much nicer environment than the last corporate cooking manager job I had.

Because of their high expectations, training felt rushed and they went after me for every mistake I made, despite those who have been there longer making those mistakes and it’s not so drastic.

I still kept going regardless. “I need to struggle. Its necessary to get better”. Nope, not better. Pay now is not livable. I have to leave and I’m afraid. My brother takes care of finances at home and he was supportive in my decisions to build up on something new just for it to crash because I wasn’t good enough.

I don’t want another job like my last one. And I’m not looking forward to a job like my current one with high expectations over my head and getting chewed out for tiny mistakes.