I’m struggling to find any motivation

I’ve been questioning why I should go on any more for a couple of months now. All my life I have been conquering physical and mental obstacles, if I was knocked down I would get right back up no problem. I survived a lot of accidents ranging from a breathing issue just after being born to multiple TBI’s (traumatic brain injuries) to crashing my car. I have proven my abilities in my career as a mechanic despite being thin and having a lack of visual muscles. I struggled in school due to undiagnosed mental illnesses and still managed to graduate with a 3.2 gpa. At the start of this year I irritated my lower back lifting heavy weights, after this I lost a lot of enthusiasm through the physical therapy and chiropractic visits. There are previous leg injuries that hinder my recovery and I ended up losing my job as a mechanic because I feel like I have given up. I am applying to other jobs but my motivation is not there. I have struggled with depression and its highs and lows but I am feeling lower than I’ve ever felt before. I used to tell people about everything that has happened in my life and I would take pride in their awe and their admiration would make me feel powerful and in some instances invincible. Now I feel angry. Now I feel guilty for being alive. I feel selfish. My friends have died, my family has died, lots of them younger than I am now. I’ve felt this way before and I put my hands into near boiling water repeatedly for months, I just want to be done, I want to rest, I don’t know what to look for anymore, I sometimes think I see the answer but then I find myself back where I was. I should be dead and I no longer rejoice in the fact that I’m alive.

1 Like