I'm scared to come out to my dad

I don’t really know where to start… I guess I’ll start of by fully introducing myself. My name is Rachel. I’m a self-taught artist, I’m a photographer, a drummer, and I’m a gay female. I’ve known I like girls for a while now and these feelings aren’t going away. As of writing this, I’ve only told 4 people who I’m close with and who I knew would be accepting. My mom is 1 out of those 4 people. However, my dad doesn’t know this and I’m very scared to tell him. My dad and I get along just fine. He isn’t the most religious person, and we haven’t had any past issues with our relationship. But I’m afraid that if I tell him that I like the same sex, it will somehow ruin our current relationship and he’ll think of me differently. These thoughts have been giving me a lot of anxiety lately. It’s starting to become very overwhelming and my urges to cut again are very strong. I love my dad so much; I would hate it if one day I told him that I like girls and he’d just end up shutting me out and thinking of me differently just because of my sexuality… any advice or support would be greatly appreciated.

1 Like

Hi Rachel,

First of all, thanks for sharing something so personal and private. I know that isn’t always easy. I’ve seen you around on discord and stream. It’s nice to see you here on the wall and sharing!

I’m glad that your momma was so accepting of you. That’s amazing! It really is. Is it at all possible to have your mom as a Support with you as you talk to your dad? (Asking while not knowing if they are together or not)

I know that telling parents about these things can be so scary because you don’t want to let them down and you don’t want to disappoint them somehow. But if you don’t talk to him, it’s going to eat at you till you do. Maybe you can do a lunch or something together at one of your guys place and just have a heart to heart.