Living Alone For the First Time and Struggling

Hi everyone, I’m new to this forum. Nice to meet you all.
I moved from my hometown to a brand new city for work this week and I’ve been having a rough time. I’m 23 and this is my first time living alone and all my friends and family are two timezones away.
The silence of my apartment really messes with me sometimes. I feel alone and scared. I’ve always been the anxious type that worries needlessly about mundane things, but it’s been worse recently. I feel overwhelmed when I think about how I have to figure everything out myself.
I agreed to move for work because I thought it would be a growing and learning opportunity but… now I’m just thinking about how much more relaxing and better life would be if I had just stayed with my family. I wish I could go back to being a kid (but I guess that’s pretty common).
Anyway, thanks for taking the time to listen to my thoughts.

6 Likes

Welcome to Heart Support.

There was a time when I had nothing but the TV to keep me company. Yes, moving is a growing and learning experience. Even if you suffer for a while, the independence you’ve attained will be of great benefit, even if you decide to go home. Stepping outside of your comfort zone is usually the first step in really getting to know yourself and finding opportunities of interest.

Spend some time on the phone with family/friends who can help you. You can also video chat.

New friendships will form, perhaps from work, at a gym, or in your community. I actually became comfortable with aloneness. Indeed the best friends or life partners are those who can be independent and alone for a while. That’s because when two independent people get together, it’s for the pure enjoyment of it, instead of feeling emotionally dependent, and perhaps co-dependent.

You’ve only been there for a week. You are likely to feel a lot more comfortable in a month.