Not sure what to do anymore

From slyy...: made posts before but so long. either way, no clue what to do with my life. im a med student 2nd year (6 years total to finish, not 3), and i hate it and not sure i wanna continue. discuss with parents, havent done anything, and they completely freak out, mum yelling she will *** herselff if i dont do this, dad is just assisting my mother hes nice but very stupid. thing is, its affected my mental to the point of self ####, but mum still doesnt care. i have 0 friends, wasnt allowed to get a job and basically dont talk to anyone because im rarely allowed to go out when im younger. ive realised that my parents are controlling, but i have no idea what to do now. they do love me, and i know thats SUPER typical to say, but they really do. they had a really messed up life, near homeless and did everything in their power to make a house and give me a lot of things and gifts i wanted when i was younger for free. so i have 0 idea what to do. they manipulate me and control me, but they actually really do love me, and always want the best for me. they are very negative towards anyone outside since they got screwed over by all their friends, society etc. should i run? if i do, i lose my family forever because mother always talks about ### herself, and my father has no one else. if i stay, i cant keep doing med and i will do something irreversible maybe. either way im lost in life, dont even know what other career i would do since i went into med for mother never considered others

2 Likes

Hey there friend,

Thank you for reaching out to us. We appreciate you. You’re going through a lot right now. Please be kind to yourself. That feeling of being lost can be so terrible, but all tough times will eventually pass. I know that going through med school can really limit your free time, but I think that maybe making some time to see a therapist regularly could have a big positive impact.