Overwhelmed by Anxiety

I feel overwhelmed with anxiety to the point where it’s difficult for me to even function. It feels difficult to breathe and my chest has been feeling tight. I weaned myself off of anxiety medication last year, but it’s gotten to the point where I needed to schedule an appointment with my doctor to get back on it. I’m a pre-med student and the thought of the course work and standardized tests I would need to accomplish in medical school frightens me even though I know I’m capable of doing it. I thought medicine is what I wanted to do, but the anxiety is so great that it’s to the point where I’m not sure I want to keep going with this career path. However, I feel stuck. I hold a degree in biology and I’m scared that the low amount of money I’d be earning wouldn’t be enough for me to do the things I want in life and live comfortably. I feel as though I’d feel just as much anxiety if I went down that path too. So no matter what I do, I’m faced with incredible amounts of anxiety. I’m not sure what my passions are in life. I feel as though I enjoy nothing. I have no place to turn and it’s debilitating.

4 Likes

Keep pushing my friend <3.
We are here for you along your journey. I am so sorry you have to deal with all this stress and anxiety but I know you can get through it. Med school is hard so don’t blame yourself for being stressed its totally normal. Remember you can always come here for help and we will listen. I’m not a doctor or a therapist so I can’t give you an educated advise but maybe try breathing exercises or maybe making a list of happy things and pull it out when you get stressed? idk maybe.
You are loved, you are beautiful, and you are valuable.

4 Likes

Hey @wertyuiop, thanks for being here and sharing! I hope that this can be a community where you feel welcomed and loved. I am so sorry to hear about the anxiety you are going through.