Scared Of Opportunities

Hi everyone!

So I’ve been asked to dance for my school but I’m absolutely terrified. I’ve been a dancer since I was barely 3 years old, but I’ve never been asked to do a solo. I’m a freshman in high school, so I already am seen as a newbie and young and weird, but now I’m preforming for over 400 people… by myself. I’m absolutely terrified I will find a dance that nobody likes. If anyone has any suggestions on what to dance to, PLEASE let me know. It has to be a jazz dance, but that’s the only requirement.

Anything helps.
I love yall

RedRain xxx

8 Likes

Hi RedRain :slightly_smiling_face:
First of all I think you might be giving this a bit too much thought. I dont think the people care that much about the dance and the music. There are always going to be the ones that dislike your choices but there are also gonna be the ones who like them. Thats why it is important to be authentic :slightly_smiling_face:. Pick something that you like and that sounds good to you. Its probably the best desicion you can make :wink:

1 Like

one thing that could help pick a song is tofollow djaj2 on twitch, and find some good jazz there. maybe even ask what songs are good to dance to.

i know exactly how u feel. trying something new can be scary. im a very shy person so i’ve had my fair share of opportunities i’ve been scared to take. but once u do it u might find that it isn’t so bad. something i get told alot is u can do anything u set ur mind to. and don’t forget u have a whole community of people rooting for u. u got this i believe in u!

@RedRain,