Struggling what to make of life

Hi there I am a 28 year old male, married with a 3 month baby.

I have been struggling with depression (although I haven’t been clinically diagnosed) but I feel sad, anxious, worried and pessimistic about life on a constant basis.

I have good things in my life such as my family, but I feel like every day is so meaningless and there isn’t any point to life.

I have a faith but a lot of times I feel disconnected and it doesn’t make much difference to my life.

I often compare my life to others e.g jobs, finances, having a house, nice cars, and feel like I am a failure. I believe this is because I’m a musician and it’s always been my dream to pursue a career but it’s never happened, and now I am stuck in office jobs scraping pennies to live.

I just felt like I wanted to open up and not necessarily get advice, but I feel doing it here is better than opening up to people I know as they may judge me or it will affect their opinion of me.

I feel trapped in my life, and that there isn’t anything I can do about it, and feel disconnected and lonely from my family, friends, and really struggle to find any enjoyment or purpose in life.

If you have read this thanks for your time!

Jim

5 Likes

Hi Jim,

Welcome to HeartSupport. We’re so glad that you’re here and appreciate you for sharing with us.

It’s incredibly difficult to feel all those negative emotions without seeing a light at the end of the tunnel – an improvement in sight – and I can imagine all the exhaustion this may cause.