Taking steps away from social anxiety, one day at a time

This is a little bit silly, but felt like a step important enough for me to share. I’m still learning to celebrate positive changes and growth in my life (always tempted to dismiss it and move on to the next item on my to do list). Forcing myself to take a pause now and reflect - so here it is.

I recently signed up for workout classes. Taking the leap came essentially from the fact that my therapist had to change the location of her practice, and she was basically one of the only people I was physically meeting with - which is now not possible anymore. One of the perspectives I’ve set to myself this year is to try to be more proactive in going out and seeking opportunities to meet new people, as my “IRL” social life is nonexistent besides interactions with my partner (the perks of remote working and being socially anxious). So it’s not necessarily to make new friends. I feel too old to pressure myself with that type of goal. It’s just about having a sense of live interactions with people, whether it’s casual or not. I already started to make it a habit to go to the coffee shop on my own once a week and work or journal from there. Workout classes was another item on my mind.

I learned that there is a centre very close to where I live, where they provide courses for small groups (up to 5 people by class). The types of workout provided are also right in my alley as I need to get back to shape after becoming a desk potato. Not too intense, focused on core training, streching and easing physical pain.