There is still beauty

My mind is a mess. Prior to covid and lockdowns I never experienced a real distress that would be caused by the worldwide news. Last year it came to a point for me that so many others have felt: being actively suicidal and determined to not wake up another day in this chaotic world. A huge component of what fills my depression are existential questions that never have any satisfying answer. I’m still learning to accept that sometimes it’s okay to reduce my focus and simplify.

Yesterday I’ve hit this automatic point of being on edge emotionally and physically because of the latest news regarding the ongoing conflicts. Once again. I am completely safe and not suicidal. Though I’ve spent a huge part of my day yesterday needing to sleep because my anxiety was activated on high mode. My body just shut down as my mind was running on high speed. I had this huge tiredness that prevented me to do or enjoy anything. It’s still impressive to me how I can wake up okay and have a good feeling about the day, then ending up completely down and unable to move.

Today it’s the opposite. I’m running on speed mode. Breathing is difficult. Thoughts never stop rushing even though I’m not 100% aware of them. It’s a stress that doesn’t have any practical grip. It’s just present, foggy, directionless. I feel like a machine that never stops functioning. I see myself walking way too fast in the tiny spaces of the apartment we live in.

I hate being like this because it’s all about reactions that are out of my control. But I’m getting better at seeing it when it happens, and accepting whatever needs to be done to take care of myself, even if it means to put my life under parenthesis. I haven’t worked yesterday. I couldn’t. But it’s okay. The guilt I’ve been adding to the already existing stress doesn’t need to be.