Tired, Sick, but hanging in there

I finally went and got myself a “Propper” Teaching job with a public charter school. The problem? It’s a bad charter school and I’m not doing the job I originally applied for. I’m an art teacher by trade and yet I’m tutoring kids for the standardized test, something that I vehemently oppose. It stinks because I’m used to making lesson plans and letting kids express themselves while learning, but in this job, I simply have no chance to do that. It’s boring 30-minute small group sessions and no one has any room for deviation from the work. No child I work with is happy to see me, which is honestly pretty soul-killing.

On top of everything, I’m getting sick CONSTANTLY. I mean like once or twice a month. I’m fully vaccinated, but I cannot tell you how many covid tests my doctor has made me take because I just keep getting sick and running fevers. It’s not completely unexpected for me, I have something called Hypogammaglobulinemia, which means that my immune system is really bad at its job. But it usually doesn’t happen this much even. And THAT it’s because I live in Texas and our governor decided that kids don’t have to wear masks in schools. Also probably the stress of having a job that hurts my soul.

I’ve been looking desperately for art teaching but it’s all part-time. So I’ve widened the net a bit and started looking for pretty much anything art or teaching-related that’s full-time. I just can’t handle being the bad guy anymore, and I know I’m not capable of turning the entire school around from my lowly position. So I’m praying for an out where I won’t have to lose too much to switch.

6 Likes

I’m sorry that you’re stuck in such an unfortunate position. A friend of mine moved out of Texas a few months ago because of the political and economic situation. Are you on LinkedIn? There are several other job-search websites, and there is also the state employment agency. Is it possible for you to do private tutoring?