Vent Post #2: i want to "grow up".. but it feels impossible

i hate being “an adult”… no seriously i do. i’m 19 & i have the mental age of a 12 year old (more on this later…).

my dad has been pushy about what i’m gonna do for money, which is obviously understandable because i do need to make money at some point (& it sounds fabulous), but the way he implies it makes me uncomfortable & a bit worried. to his logic, apparently… no matter if you like doing it or not, if it doesn’t pay enough then what’s the point in doing it. i get what he’s saying in a way, but…

i’m a artist; i make abstract or highly stylized drawings. i also used to do paintings, photography & some creative writing. there’s other things i’d like to get into or at least try like video editing/films & creative make-up, though i’m not sure if these will be part of my career, they may just become fun hobbies of mine.

with that being said… sadly i don’t think my dad approves or appreciates my creative spirit. he even told me one time that i’ll never be a artist. being an artist to him isn’t a real job i guess… it’s either go to college or just get employed to work. & honestly, i really don’t want to do that… working grueling hours , rotting at a desk/counter for 60+ years at a job that doesn’t fulfill me in any way sounds like hell on earth. i need a job/career that’s going to fulfill me mentally, emotionally & spiritually… & that’s going to be a creative career. it’s what makes me happy. i’ve sold some work before so i know if i did it before then i can do it again.